Home > blogging, CO335, colleagues, roger, teaching > Mon 8/8: Blogging unit expanded

Mon 8/8: Blogging unit expanded

I read somewhere that the only way to become a good writer is to write, and the only way to cure writer’s block is to write, so I think I just need to screw my courage to the sticking point and start churning out posts. Part of the problem, I think, is that I look out there at all the other well-established teaching blogs and it seems as if each one of their posts has something profound to say about education. That’s an illusion, I’m sure, but an intimidating one. In any case, the main purpose of this blog was to let me think out loud about my teaching, not to impress people, so it doesn’t matter if things are a little rough around the edges for now.

I’ve started to outline a rough schedule for my CO335 unit on blogging. Here it is:

Class

Date

Unit 1: Blogging

1         

09/09

Creating blogs and posts

Homework: Complete intro survey; write blog post #1

2         

09/12

Intro to CO335; Setting up a blog site

Homework: Lay out blog page; write blog post #2

3         

09/14

Blog do’s & don’ts

Homework: Write blog critique #1 (blog post #3)

4         

09/15

Extra blog features

Homework: Write blog critique #2 (blog post #4)

5         

09/16*

Social survey: blogging
Homework: Write RP #1 (blog post #5)
  1. August 9, 2011 at 2:14 am

    It’s all an illusion. I started just a year ago, and it’s become totally addictive. Suddenly, you find ideas (not sure if they’re all good ideas) coming to you all the time, and all I do is make them into draft posts (I’ve got about 50 now).

    Here’s a question—Another key to blogging is going to be reading blogs. Are you going to have your students learn google reader and start to build up a personal feed of interesting stuff to read?

  2. rwistar
    August 9, 2011 at 11:21 am

    We’re definitely going to be looking at other blogs for inspiration and critique. I don’t think I will show them how to use an RSS reader, at least up front, because then they can read the posts without actually having to look at the site. I want them to be studying both the content and its delivery.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

